Celebrating our newest National Academy of Sciences members

The Baylor community gathered this week to congratulate Dr. Dora E. Angelaki, professor and Wilhelmina Robertson Chair in Neuroscience, and Dr. Martin M. Matzuk, director of the Center for Drug Discovery and vice chair of pathology & immunology. Both are new members of the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Paul Klotman congratulated the two among a group of Baylor faculty, staff and students. Among the group were three of the seven other Baylor faculty members who also are members of the academy.

“This is one of the highest honors a scientist can receive, and two in one year greatly reflects the fantastic work being done here at Baylor,” said Klotman, president, CEO and executive dean. “We are proud of them and their accomplishments that contribute tremendously to the science and scientific environment at the college.”

Other Baylor faculty members who are have been elected to the academy include: Drs. Wah Chiu, the Alvin Romansky professor of biochemistry and molecular biology and director of the National Center for Macromolecular Imaging; Arthur Beaudet, professor of molecular and human genetics; Thomas Caskey, professor of molecular and human genetics; Mary Estes, professor of molecular virology and microbiology and medicine; Bert O’Malley, chair of molecular and cellular biology; Salih Wakil, professor of biochemistry and molecular biology; and Huda Zoghbi, professor of molecular and human genetics, pediatrics, neurology and neuroscience and director of the Jan and Dan Duncan Neurological Research Institute at Texas Children’s Hospital.

For more information about Angelaki’s and Matzuk’s research, check out this article in From the Labs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *