From The Labs

Congratulations Dr. David Moore, Baylor’s newest member of the National Academy of Sciences

Dr. David Moore, professor of molecular and cellular biology, medicine and molecular and human genetics at Baylor College of Medicine, has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. He is one of 100 new members selected in recognition of their distinguished and continued achievements in original research.

Dr. David Moore

“Being elected to the National Academy is such a great honor,” said Moore. “It reflects well on Baylor College of Medicine, and I am grateful for the support I have had here, and of course also for the many talented, diligent, awesome people who have been in my laboratory. It would not have been possible without them.”


The National Academy of Sciences is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars that was established by an Act of Congress and signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. The organization is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership for outstanding contributions to research.

“David has been a tremendous contributor to our understanding of the control of liver metabolism and oncogenesis through nuclear hormone receptors, as well as a great contributor to Baylor College of Medicine,” said Dr. Adam Kuspa, senior vice president and dean of research at Baylor. “It is wonderful to see his scientific achievements recognized in this way.”

Moore completed his undergraduate training at Brown University and received his Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

His research focuses on nuclear hormone receptors that regulate metabolism and cancer. There are 48 members of the nuclear hormone receptor superfamily, and the focus of Moore’s lab is to understand the roles of the newer members of this superfamily, particularly their impact on metabolic and oncogenic pathways in the liver.

Moore is the 9th member of the Baylor faculty named to the National Academy of Sciences.

He joins:

Dr. Dora Angelaki, professor of neuroscience who holds the Wilhelmina Robertson Chair in Neuroscience

Dr. Martin M. Matzuk, interim chair of pathology and immunology, director of the Center for Drug Discovery and Stuart A. Wallace Chair, Robert L. Moody, Sr. Chair.

Dr. Arthur Beaudet, the Henry and Emma Meyer Chair and Professor in Molecular and Human Genetics.

Dr. Thomas Caskey, professor of molecular and human genetics.

Dr. Mary Estes, Distinguished Service Professor of molecular virology and microbiology and Cullen Foundation Endowed Chair.

Dr. Bert O’Malley, chancellor of Baylor College of Medicine.

Dr. Salih Wakil, Distinguished Service Professor of biochemistry.

Dr. Huda Zoghbi, professor of pediatrics, molecular and human genetics, neurology and neuroscience and Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator.

Moore also serves as a member of the Dan L Duncan Comprehensive Cancer Center at Baylor College of Medicine.


By Dipali Pathak


Receive From the Labs via email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *